Scavenger hunt – 12/9/10

I can never think of anything to write to start these posts, so let’s just get into it.

Landscape.

This is an archived photo from my trip home to Victoria in July. I probably shared it at the time, but it’s perfect for ‘landscape.’ The mountains are The Grampians, the tallest peak is Mount William, you can just see the phone towers on top.

Powerline.

I spent all week looking at power lines. I guess that’s how the scavenger hunt affects my brain, everywhere I went I was looking for interesting power lines. And it was only for that reason that I noticed this piece of graffiti. The story of Mr Ward is tragic, the Aboriginal elder died in the back of a police van in 47 degree heat. The temperature inside the van was likely over 55 degrees Celsius. That’s 131 degrees Fahrenheit. There was no air conditioning and he was given one bottle of water for a 4 hour drive. His crime? Driving under the influence. It makes me furious and kind of ashamed to be Australian. You can’t imagine a white man being treated in this way. Anyway, kind of off topic, but a story that needs to be told.

Newspaper.

A couple of nights a week Matt delivers papers, and sometimes I tag along. It completely screws up my body clock, the hours are 1-5-ish AM, but I kinda like being able to talk to Matt with no distractions. Other then him chucking newspapers out the window. We talk about politics, sport, climate change, religion, evolution, taxonomy, weather, plans for the future, childhood memories, music, food, history and so much more. Matt’s so busy all the time, so I really love this time together.

Pose.

I love this photo, and I couldn’t have posed them better if I tried. The contrast of their eyes is beautiful.

Hobby.

Pretty little stitches.

This entry was posted in Kitties, Photo Challenge and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Scavenger hunt – 12/9/10

  1. RMontalban says:

    OMG, I am horrified to hear about the story of Mr Ward and I did wonder what the bill board was about – didn’t expect that story though. Enjoyed reading this post and seeing your pictures, thank you.

    • Zoe says:

      The bit I forgot to mention is that no one was held responsible for his death. The family were awarded some money, but money doesn’t make a life.

  2. Dorothy says:

    I enjoyed seeing all your pictures. The one of your cats is simply magic!

  3. lisa says:

    i love your cats both lookingat you…WHo is MR. ward??? I also loved the landscape pic.. and the newspaper pic and story… made the post.

  4. Sheri says:

    What a sad story about Mr. Ward (but I have to say that’s an incredible bit of graffiti!)

  5. Sarah says:

    Love your landscape and hobby shots. That is so neat about going with Matt to deliver papers, that would be neat to just have that quiet time.

  6. Wow, I am horrified by the Mr. Ward story. I’m glad there is visible graffiti to remind people, and I’m glad you shared the story and photo with us.

    On a lighter note, I really like your kitties in your pose photo. They really couldn’t be lined up better if you had put them there yourself!

  7. These are all great shots but I’m really moved by your story attached to powerlines – that’s terrible. I hope you have a great week and I hope to see you again next week!

  8. Kristy says:

    I love your hobby photo. That is really sad and horrifying about Mr. Ward.

  9. Christine says:

    What a sad story, thanks for posting it. I do love all your pics. The hobby and newspaper ones especially!

  10. Tara says:

    These photos are really great. I love your landscape shot. That story is absolutley horrible about Mr. Ward. My goodness.

  11. Tripps says:

    Love how the cat are so perfectly posed! So cute.

  12. angela dunn says:

    Love the photos of your cats, very cute. But also so sad the story about Mr. Ward.

  13. Clare B says:

    I think I would also like the “newspaper chat times”. Lots of time to sit and chat about nothing and everything. I really think it’s something that I don’t get enough time to do with my boy-friend.

Leave a Reply

