You Capture – Our Choice

This weeks You Capture theme was ‘Photographers Choice.’ I didn’t end up going out to specifically take a photo for You Capture like I usually do, so this is just a random assortment of photos from the week.

This is a Cowslip Orchid, or Caladenia Flava. I took this, and the next photo, at my old place of work, Kings Park. Kings Park is totally awesome and is only a few kilometres from the Perth CBD. It’s home to the botanic gardens, but the best bit is that it has a good-sized area of natural bushland. I don’t know of anywhere else in Australia, or the world with that kind of natural resource so close to the city.

Anigozanthos manglesii. Or Kangaroo Paw, the floral emblem of Western Australia.

This flower isn’t from Kings Park. It’s from my humble vegie patch. I’m not sure if it’s a garlic or onion flower, my garden is what you might call ‘free form,’ so things grow where they feel like it.

Busy little bees making my beans grow.

I love little anthills. Ant are such industrious creatures, and so clever!

I love nougat so much. I really want to try making it at home, because it always seems to be so expensive!

This is probably my favourite photo for the week. I don’t know why, it’s nothing special, but I like the reflection of the bottle on the table, and it’s from a lovely breakfast with my boy, so that makes it even better.

‘Oink!’

Photobucket

This entry was posted in Photo Challenge and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to You Capture – Our Choice

  1. Amber says:

    Ooh the bees that is so cool, huh I never thought of growing my own garlic we use a lot of it in our house….great idea!

  2. Regina Lynn says:

    What is about glass shots that I love? Beautiful shots, all of them!

  3. Sheri says:

    That first shot is so pretty!
    Ghosting

  4. Wow that kangaroo’s paw looks crazy! But yes, mmm, nougat is yummy. :)

  5. Brooke G says:

    Great captures. I love macro shots. You are going to have to go back there again for next week’s challenge for sure :D

  6. I love the shot with the condesation on the glass.

  7. Clare B says:

    I love Kangaroo Paw, it’s one crazy flower, but really reminds me of the uniqueness of the Australian flora and fauna. Great shot.

  8. girlsworld says:

    Beautiful flowers, but there is something about the picture of the glass sweating on the table with its reflection.

  9. Bec says:

    That first flower is absolutely gorgeous. I’ve always wanted an orchid, but know I’d manage to kill it way too fast!

  10. Susan says:

    Great shots, I like the little piggy at the end. Very cute!

  11. Stillmary says:

    Oh my gosh! I can’t believe all your beautiful photos! I love the kangaroo paw. How could I ever have seen one without You Capture! And the bee photos are great but most of all I can’t believe the close-up you got of that ant hill. Awesome!
    And you’re right. The glass on the table is especially beautiful. Really nice job!

  12. megryansmom says:

    Sometimes the most simple shots truly are the most intriguing. Great captures!

  13. Carrie says:

    The last four are my favorites (that nougat – wow!). Guess you’ll have to take more flower pictures for next week (me too!).

  14. Jaime says:

    The bees are pretty amazing…and impressive. Great job!

  15. Ashley says:

    These are pretty interesting shots. Nice work.

  16. Yanet says:

    I love the nougat shot! I like the perspective of the macro shots.

  17. MaryAnne says:

    Hi! Found your thru Ramblings and Photos and I’m so glad I did! I love your pictures! They’re gorgeous! :)

    I’m having a photo contest over @ my blog right now, so you should stop by and take a look! Hopefully you can enter!

    http://thepunkrockmom.blogspot.com/2010/09/new-photo-challenge.html

    <3MaryAnne

  18. Thank you for visiting my blog!
    Love the photos! Especially the pig–he’s cute! :)

Leave a Reply

